Tomato, Chickpea and Spinach Curry

Hey Everyone, I hope your day has been well.

Every now and then, I like to set myself little food challenges so I’m currently eating no chocolate for lent, which is quite difficult as so many items have chocolate in them and chocolates are everywhere, but aside from that it’s going well. I decided to cut down on chocolate for a while as I was eating quite a bit of it and felt like my body needed a break, don’t get me wrong I’m still eating sweet things but not as much as before.

For March I decided I won’t be eating meat! I don’t know if I would ever eventually go vegetarian but it’s nice to cut out meat every now and them and make sure the diet is still filled with vegetables, grains and pulses that provide the body will all essential nutrients. Over the years, I have naturally cut down on meat and I make much more vegetable based recipes so it won’t be as difficult as the last time. I think ordering food and eating out will be most different as I’ll have to think more about what I want / where to eat.

Today I’m sharing a delicious chickpea and vegetable recipe that is filled with so much flavour!! In the past I’ve always used dried chickpeas (I have heard they are supposed to be better than tinned) but tinned cooks so much better and they actually go soft and mushy which is such a lovely texture along with the flavours of cumin, coriander, honey and garlic.

The radish salad is a little addition as I had a few left in the fridge but it also provides a nice crunchy texture.

Ingredients

Serves 2 portions

1 tbsp oil
1/3 red onion, diced
1 tsp garlic puree
1/2 tin chopped tomatoes
1 tsp honey
3/4 tin chickpeas
Sprinkle of curry powder, chilli powder, cumin and coriander
2 large handfuls of spinach

Rice
Butter
Dried herbs

Radish salad
3 radish
1 tbsp pinenuts, sesame seeds, sunflower
2 tbsp walnuts, chopped

Method
1. Prepare the salad and set aside.
2. Heat the oil in a pan and once hot, add the onions cooking for a few minutes until soft and sprinkle over some curry powder, cumin, coriander and chilli powder.
3. Next add the garlic, tomato and honey leaving on a gentle simmer for 5 minutes.
4. Cook the rice according to packet, I like adding in butter and herbs for more flavour.

5. Add the chickpeas, coconut milk and spinach on a medium heat for 10 minutes allowing some of the liquid to reduce. Keep checking to make sure the liquid doesn’t all reduce!

6. Once everything is done, portion the rice on a plate, give the chickpeas a final stir and place next to the rice with the salad on the side. Enjoy



What other ingredients do you like with your chickpea curry?

Thanks for reading, A

Leave a comment