Lemon and Poppyseed Cupcakes

I feel like I am forever making sweet things so I’ve decided to try something a little different….. lemon and poppyseed cupcakes!! I actually saw this recipe ages ago but only just decided to bake them after wanting to try something new. The recipe was posted on Twitter by Lorraine Pascal and it was super simple and different to what I usually do so I thought why not.

image

Ingredients
175g self raising flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda
110g castor sugar
Zest and juice of a lemon
70g melted butter
175g milk (I used almond milk)
25g poppyseeds

Method
1. Firstly prepare your cupcake tray with 12 cases.

2. You can literally just put all the ingredients into a bowl and mix vigorously until well combined. It may be easier to use a handheld whisk if you have one but both methods work great.

3. I then used a ladle to equally fill each case with the mixture and put into the oven for 20 minutes.

4. Enjoy whilst slightly warm.

image

Okay, so my end thoughts on these cupcakes are undecided, I am so used to eating and enjoying sweet baked foods that it will take some time for me to appreciate the ingredients used such as poppyseeds and lemons however I know that they are much healthier because they contain less sugar and the poppyseeds are full of nutrients.

image

Recipe made 15 cupcakes

I definitely want to start looking at different recipes and see what alternatives I can use to have the same great taste with added health benefits.

Leave a Reply

